Tuesday, January 27, 2009

Aurealis Awards

So we all know by now that the 2009 Printz Award went to Melina Marchetta for Jellicoe Road. It turns out that two days earlier, she won another award for another book: The Aurealis Award for best young adult novel for Finnikin of the Rock (a book that's a little hard to find in the United States, and seems to be only available through Amazon as a used book.) **UPDATE** I hear it's going to be published in the US in 2010, which seems like an awfully long wait..

The Aurealis is for Australian Sci-Fi, Fantasy and Horror writing. This year's other finalists were:
The Stone Key, Isobelle Carmody
Lamplighter (Monster Blood Tattoo Book Two), David Cornish
The Two Pearls of Wisdom, Alison Goodman
The Changeling, Sean Williams

And here's a quick video of Marchetta talking about Finnikin:

No comments:

Post a Comment