Monday, January 10, 2011

ALA Youth Media Awards — 2011 winners!

It's my favorite day of the year!  The day I come into work and spend the whole morning watching an online video.  Or I guess that's not so unlike any other day, except that the video I'm watching is not that double rainbow guy. It's the ALA awards announcements, and that's way more exciting!

Ship BreakerPrintz Award
Honor Books:
Stolen, Lucy Christopher
Please Ignore Vera Dietz, A.S. King
Revolver, Marcus Sedgwick
Nothing, Janne Teller

Ship Breaker, Paolo Bacigalupi  !!!!

This has never happened to me before in my entire YA-awards-following life, but just moments before the announcements started I was musing aloud to an uninterested coworker that Ship Breaker should win the Printz.  I was gesticulating excitedly while he backed slowly away.  So I was fairly certain that it wouldn't win, because that's how my predictions go. 

And then the rest:
Alex Awards for adult books of interest to young people:
The Boy Who Couldn't Sleep and Never Had To, DC Pierson
Breaking Night, Liz Murray
Girl in Translation, Jean Kwok
The House of Tomorrow, Peter Bognanni
The Lock Artist, Steve Hamilton
The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake, Aimee Bender
The Radleys, Matt Haig
The Reapers are the Angels, Alden Bell
Room, Emma Donoghue
The Vanishing of Katharina Linden, Helen Grand

Schneider Family Book Awards Best Teen Book:
Five Flavors of Dumb, Antony John

Stonewall Children's and Young Adult Literature Award
Honor books:
Will Grayson, Will Grayson, John Green and David Levithan
Love Drugged, James Klise
Freaks and Revelations, Davida Willis Hurwin
The Boy in the Dress, David Walliams

Almost Perfect, Brian Katcher

Coretta Scott King Author Award
Honor Books:
Lockdown, Walter Dean Myers
Ninth Ward, Jewell Parker Rhodes
Yummy: The Last Days of a Southside Shorty, G. Neri

One Crazy Summer, Rita Williams-Garcia

Margaret A. Edwards Award (for an author's lasting contribution to young adult lit)
Terry Pratchett!!!

William C. Morris Award (best book by a first-time author)
Hush, Eishes Chayil
Guardian of the Dead, Karen Healey
Hold Me Closer, Necromancer, Lish McBride
Crossing the Tracks, Barbara Stuber
The Freak Observer, Blythe Woolston

YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Award
They Called Themselves the KKK, Susan Campbell Bartoletti
Spies of Mississippi, Rick Bowers
The Dark Game: True Spy Stories, Paul Jaceczko
Every Bone Tells A Story, Jill Rubalcaba and Peter Robertshaw

Janis Joplin: Rise Up Singing, Ann Angel

I assume there are full details at the ALA website (including results of the non-YA lit awards), but it seems to be loading verrrry slowly right now.

No comments:

Post a Comment